Cowell's BST Oyster Supplies win National Landcare Award

National Landcare Awards - 2010 Winner

25 June 2010: Cowell's BST Oyster Supplies has been announced winner of the prestigious Australian Government Innovation in Sustainable Farm Practices Award at the 2010 National Landcare Awards for its now world renown innovative oyster farming system.

Ashley Turner Accepts Award

The Awards, held at Parliament House last night, celebrate the work of volunteers from around Australia who are making a significant contribution to the environment.

Catriona Rowntree hosted the bi-annual Awards in front of 600 guests including The Hon. Tony Burke MP, Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry and actor Jack Thompson.

The BST Adjustable Longline Oyster Farming System was developed, produced and commercialised by three local oyster growers to suit the rough and weedy conditions in Franklin Harbour. The system is now recognised world-wide as an example of best practice oyster farming and has added to the positive growth of Cowell as well as the development of the aquaculture industry.

"We're honoured to receive this Award and are proud to be part of Australia's Landcare movement," said Ashley Turner from BST Oyster Supplies.

Listen to an interview with Ashley

Heather Campbell, CEO Landcare Australia added, "The Awards are a culmination of the ongoing efforts of volunteers across Australia who dedicate their time working to sustain and enhance Australia's natural resources.

"I congratulate BST Oyster Supplies on this truly remarkable achievement."

Other winners of the 2010 National Landcare Awards are:

  • Kate McLaren, Attunga NSW - Local Government Individual Landcarer Award
  • Clover Hill Dairies, Jamberoo NSW - Woolworths Primary Producer Award
  • Erin Rowe, Glossodia NSW - Australian Young Landcare Leader Award
  • Desert Channels Queensland, Longreach QLD - Australian Government NRM Region Award
  • John David Nicholas, Charters Towers QLD - Australian Government Local Landcare Facilitator / Coordinator Award